Belt vs rack rails

This must have come up before but I haven’t found it so what is the reason for using belts instead of racks? I am interested in building my own setup and when reading about expandability it seems to me that the belts (when the x direction) are the biggest problem.
I would like to build a bot in a greenhouse (cold climate here in Sweden) and I thought that having racks mounted upside down up on high tracks would eliminate much of the risk of getting dirt into the traction system while also allowing me to make a (much) longer bed. It would also be fairly simple to extend the length later on.

What am I thinking wrong? Should mention that I am not a mechanical engineer so I lack a lot of experience in this field.

I would assume that any reliable and reasonably accurate system of location would work. You are going to have a little more slop in a rack and pinion system, but due to the lower accuracy requirements, I can’t see how that would make a difference. This was a path I am researching so if you have a good source for racking that would survive in UV then please share it.
The belting is $2.50/ft, so that is the upper limit. So far I found McMaster has some for $1.50/ft http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-gears/=13uok1q. All the other stuff I found was only hobby lengths ~10". The one thing you will have to worry about is issue if it ever slips a gear. The belts have 270 degrees of wrap so are unlikely to slip, but a rack may only have a tooth or two in contact at any time.
The path I am presently researching is to use the belt as a rack and then roll over it with a tank tread style system of more belt. This would provide even more teeth engagement than a wrap but requires much more complexity. The advantage is you could more off the end of a rail to a different rail system.

Depending on size thermal expand and contraction does come a factor in play as well as you scale up but there are other things about rack and pinion.