Abort sequence during test phases

Hi, I am new to sequences and I am troubleshooting. Once I start a long sequence and I realize it is not performing well, I would like to stop it without having to hit e-stop because If I do that, the Z axis goes down (it is oiled), and then I have to manually move it up again.

Is there a way to abort a sequence so that I can send the bot home? If I click HOME it goes and than immediately resumes the sequence from where it had left it.

@JollyJoker Have you enabled the “Always Power Motor” firmware setting for the Z-Axis? This feature was added specifically to address the problem of z-axis slippage. Please let me know if this helps.

E-Stop is the only way to stop a running sequence currently.

Thanks Rick. Yes, motor is always powered, but if you hit e-stop, it is not, and Z axis goes down.

Ok, will have to wait that the sequence ends.

I think it would be a good idea to have a button in the webapp to stop sequences which are running (something like exit sequence, stop where you are and keep all axes in position => power Z motor). Especially when testing sequences that would be a great feature and also add a layer of security. The user could then go back to home or to wherever he wants from there.
I understand E-Stop as an emergency shutdown which should only be used under very critical circumstances (as if a normal stop does not work).

3 Likes

I put a feature request some time ago. It got some likes and farmbotInc has not shown a reaction. Besides from it being useful it is in my eyes a basic feature for a machine. At the same time I understand that one might decide this is not a priority because people are working around this issue.