Camera to monitor water stress?

Hi. I’m a professor at Oregon State University working on computer modelling of how plants grow, and how to monitor water stress in trees and crops.

Have you considered incorporating thermal cameras into farmbot to monitor the water status of individual plants? It might allow for a more frugal use of water in the system.

Hi,

That’s a fantastic idea. Right now we’re just working with a standard visible spectrum camera for weed detection. It could probably be used to look at leaf color/health as well, if we had models for what a healthy vs an unhealthy crop looked like. This type of data will come over time.

If you’re interested in using a different type of camera, you should be able to do so pretty easily as long as the camera can be remotely operated over USB or something. If that was the case, then you could use the FarmBot web app to move FarmBot over a plant, take an image, and then move to the next plant, on whatever schedule you wanted. Then you could process the images with an external script and use the results in some way to farm/water more effectively.

Excellent. I’m in the process of moving to a new university, but once settled I’m going to look into using a farmbot as a teaching tool and see whether I can integrate a thermal camera into the system. You wouldn’t happen to have academic discounts, would you :slight_smile:

We do! For qualified institutions we can offer an additional 20% off. We can provide the coupon code in an email after review of the institution. Thanks!

1. Public Labs offers a do it yourself kit for modifying an inexpensive camera or webcam to acquire infrablue imagery. (similar to NDVI) You can post process this infrablue imagery to assess photosynthesis activity. Public Labs offers open source software for post processing the images. Public labs is based in Cambridge, Ma, but there are active members in the bay area of California.
    http://infragram.org/