Can we use ultra cheap encoders form VEX?

So I should preface this with two things, one this has to do with both hardware and software but I think it is more of a hardware problem so that´s why I´m posting this here, two I am a newb so I apologize if this has been covered here, but I did not encounter it.

Now for the meat of my problem, I am trying to build a FarmBot for a high school technology capstone project. I have so far gotten the price down to about ~600 dollars by 3d printing everything at my school (it’s free) buying cheap Chinese equivalents to a lot of the open build stuff. But I have gotten rid of the encoders because they are pretty expensive considering I have to finance this myself as a high school student. I have been offered free Vex quadrature encoders, http://www.vexrobotics.com/276-2156.html they are 90 ppr and regularly plugged into the vex cortex (you will have to look up the pinout I don´t know it off the top of my mind), would I be able to use these to replace the other encoders? (they are not waterproof but it will be used in a greenhouse so I don’t care) And what would I have to do to adapt for those, and how would I have to change the software/pinout?

Thanks for your time,
David Hickox

Hi David,

My first guess is that this would be do-able, but I really can’t say for sure because I am unfamiliar with those encoders. Also keep in mind that if you are trying to save money as your primary goal then you don’t need the encoders at all - you can just hope that FarmBot doesn’t miss steps, and/or use cheap endstops.

1 Like