Extend Farmbot to “infinite” length & “multi-bed”

Hi!
I don’t have a Farmbot (yet), but I have been digging into all about the Farmbot (reading documentation, blogs, forum posts, etc.)
One thing that seems to be a limiter is the overal size (range & scope) of the robot. Having said that, and given that I have no actual hands-on experience, here is my idea:

1. What if Farmbot got its power from the two rails? (Or a 3rd rail like a subway train). That would allow Farmbot to be much longer and eliminate many cables.
    Another thought would be to devise a way for the Farmbot gantry assembly to switch from one bed to an adjacent bed. Both of these ideas would allow users to expand the Farmbot in both the x & y directions. Just raw ideas for mulling over - I have no idea if these are feasible.
    ~Tony
1 Like

Hey Tony,

There has been plenty of discussion about the scope and range of FB (of which FB XL was borne). I’ll look for the exact threads and post them here if I find them, but the take away is that your run up against structural integrity and precision constraints, especially when increasing along the y-axis. A point will be reached when the combined weight of the gantry (cables, structural materials, water in the tubing, etc) will compromise the current design, causing stability and movement issues.