Farmware development workflow

I’m just getting started on Farmware development and am wondering if anyone would like to share their workflow for such things.
Usually when programming things one can work locally and have instant feedback on changes but this doesn’t seem possible with coding Farmware as it has to be hosted.
It would also appear that there might be some caching issues as small quick changes do not seem to to be reflected when updating from the Farmware console.
I am also having an issue of installing my Farmware at times with the only feedback being a toast saying that the Farmware installation failed, which doesn’t really help me understand what went wrong or where to look for reasons why.
Any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

This error usually comes up if your “manifest.json” file contains errors. This file is a bit fragile, the more you are changing, the higher the chance that you accidently delete a character or add something that should not be there. Always double check the spelling of your urls and arguments. Also keep in mind, that if you are using GitHub for hosting, it can sometimes take a few minutes until your manifest file is refreshed in the raw view.

OK, so there is a delay when hosting from Github, that would make sense of behavior I attributed to caching.

I’ve added a page to the Farmware development documentation regarding different hosting options and workflows.

Future software releases will provide more information about why a Farmware failed to install. I’ve also added a few additional tips to the common Farmware problems documentation page.

Awesome, this helps.

I am no stranger to computer programming but I am still struggling with getting started on communicating with the Farmbot via Farmware. Admittedly, Python isn’t a language I am well versed in but I know a bit. I’ve been searching for a complete and simple Farmware sample that I can dissect but haven’t really found one that makes complete sense to me, yet.