Insects; what can a Farmware automate?

How do you all deal with insects? I read a few methods online from garlic to soapy water. I’m new to the gardening aspect of things; looking for your input on what’s the best way to offer advice/solutions to dealing with insects through a Farmware for newbies like myself.

I have a few ideas on identification of munched on leaves, but not sure what a useful solution to aim for is. The easiest solution would be to alert the Farmbot owner and email them a link to a useful organic pest control method article, a sort of early pest detection Farmware. With your input, I think we can come up with a better solution.

From your experiences, what can we do via software (Farmware/app) or hardware to help with pest control?

Thanks!

Don’t forget to check out my Farmbot Farmwares: Powerloop and Water Doser.

Utilise the extra tube attachment on the UTM to spray agent orange on the plant in question :stuck_out_tongue:

Seriously in my humble opinion, given the wide range of insects, impacts on plants and different solutions I would recommend the following solution if you want to take a crack…

Use AI to recognize predation by insects, fungus or disease. There are API services online that do this i.e. you stream in a photo and they identify stuff. I dont know if any are opensource. Once a problem is recognized a solution should be sent to the owner maybe put a red spot in the farm designer on the affected plant with a link to the problem and solution.

You may be able to build the code to do this and then try to rely on Farmbot owners to add the data but that may take years…

Sorry complex problem so no simple solution.

I think we can do it the easy way to begin with. See: https://github.com/johri002/Automatic-leaf-infection-identifier and https://github.com/bharatsesham/OpenCV-Pest-Detection