Inspiration For Weed Killing Robot Tool

I wanted to suggest this as I believe the best kind of weeding tool should be mechanic and not chemical. Makes sense economically and environmentally (plus a health bonus too I guess).
In this link they describe a system that uses a sensor to identify weeds that then get bashed to pieces! Seems pretty neat so maybe something similar could be useful to you.

Thanks for sharing! I agree that the best way to remove a weed is via mechanical disruption/destruction. As long as weeds are detected when they are sufficiently small, then it should be fairly easy to push them into the ground, cut them up, or use an auger type drill to destroy them. Using chemicals is unnecessary if you can detect early and often!

1 Like

I’m a farmer. Weeding is super easy. You just have it do a 48 hour auto-weed. All you need is a bent wire that looks like a stirrup. Different plant types have different root types so proximity to seeded coordinate can be based on plant type.

The problem on our end with weeding is the timing and labor. If ANYTHING is more important in this project to understand than this in terms of what this device/system could achieve it is that. I understand the there are problems to overcome in the design but in the end, weeding and water use are going to be the two most fundamental reasons why we farmers need this device.

Hello Everybody , My name is Jabbar and first I would like to thank you for opening such a door so that people can share their ideas for a better food future.

I am a professional in the agriculture industry and enthusiast of IoT.

I found that link useful and I thought it might be useful:http://www.ecorobotix.com/category/project/

Unfortunately , it is in French but I think everybody could understand.It is about a robot that is created for spraying herbicides with precision on agriculture field.