Introduce yourself - why are you here?

Hello there fellow farmboteers! Dave here, but you can call me Dave, or new wave, or mutt, or… anyway, I am a fifty something professional with a big veggie garden, which I have had in some form or fashion every growing season for the last 30+ years. I can count at least a dozen gardens I have built in various places and left behind - hopefully they are still being tended by some other dirty handed human. My garden this year includes tomatoes, cucumbers, beans, beets, carrots and potatoes.

I have very little experience with robots, computers, software, etc., but I have a son who is getting some schooling in computer science and engineering, and he will be assisting on the hardware and software side. Not sure on plan yet, but I am thinking about building a lockable greenhouse type enclosure for an experimental farmbot area. Depending on your own location, security might be an issue. I have had some trouble with trespassers before, so I want to be able to lock things up at night.

Not sure on plantings - a lot of vegetables get pretty big before harvesting. I will have to modify my normal plantings and choose some things that are more compact. For this forum, it might be a good idea to create a section strictly for the botanical aspect of the farmbot project. Ultimately, farmbot is just a tool. You have to work on your green thumb too and learn how to grow things.

For some good gardening information, go to this website. http://www.territorialseed.com/

This is an Oregon based company with years of experience and tons of helpful information. I have been buying seeds, plants, and other supplies from them for 10 years or so, and they have a great catalog you can sign up to get. They also have a nifty garden planner.

Anyway, glad to be on board and I hope I can contribute to the community with some of my veggie growing experience.

1 Like