Is it worth to build a Farmbot without buying a kit?

Hello,

I’m an engineering student from Spain focusing mainly in robotics. I would love to build this fantastic idea as a present for my parents since they like having their fresh vegetables and currently they spend too much time on it. I was disposed to buy a kit until I saw the price. I understand the value of what you did but, unfortunately, I don’t have 2500 € to invest on it. So, I was wondering if I could build my own, buying each part separately/making them/using old ones for the generic parts like skrews or others.

I want to know if anyone did this already, how and what could be the saving of this. Also I’ve seen the documentation and every part is quite self-explanatory, but I wanted to ask if with the documentation (measures of everything, etc.) and the tutorials on how to build the kit it is “easy” to understand how to properly mount/attach everything and configure all the hardware, even if bought from other manufacturers. Maybe you can recommend me some special section on the website that I may have missed that would help me in this process. Another question is what would I need to buy for sure from this company in order to make it work (like the Farmduino, assuming I could never replicate it…).

A lot of questions I know, but summing up: knowing that I should wait a lot of time in order to save enough money to buy a kit, is it even worth going through this challenge? If so, could you help me with the questions above so as to know the starting point and all the places where to look for understanding nice and deeply all the process?

I’m really amazed with this tech, but I’m just poor at the moment :sweat_smile: and sorry for the long post! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I share the same sentiments too. I hope this project is more open source friendly for DIYers. At this price the ROI might be 2-3 years? I’m going to spend more time doing a bit more research.