Local Farmbot Software

Hello all,

I am a mechatronics engineering student at Vance Granville Community college. We are interested in building a farmbot for educational purposes and also setting up a local server for the application. I have experience with linux software including fedora and red hat as I used to work as a support engineer for redhat briefly. I was wondering if there would be a way to host the application from a fedora server and if anyone would have any information on helping me figure that out.

Would it be easier just down create an Ubuntu server? Even still I would need some guidance in setting up the application locally since I have no experience with ubuntu. Iā€™ve done some research and was reading how openshift may be a solution but I have never worked with openshift either

I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Thanks a lot!

That would be a question for this man http://forum.farmbot.org/users/rickcarlino/activity heā€™s the lead software developer for farmbot.

Hi, @PeterMarcellas

I would highly recommend against using anything other than Ubuntu- we simply havenā€™t tested against anything else and donā€™t have plans to support other distros on the server side. Thatā€™s not to say itā€™s impossible to use Fedora, it simply means that we canā€™t provide many resources for support if something goes wrong.

Can you try setting up the server using the instructions below?

https://github.com/FarmBot/Farmbot-Web-API/ under DEPLOYMENT.md

If you have any issues, I would appreciate if you could raise an issue on the GitHub issue tracker rather than on the forum. This helps us keep documentation up to date for future developers who are in the same position.

I wish you the best of luck on the server setup! Let us know how it goes.

A post was split to a new topic: Status Ticker Log Message Colors

Hi Rick,

I am currently looking into hosting the farmbot software on my own server, once mine arrives :slight_smile: :seedling: