Seedling plastic trays

Hey guys

I’m a farmer from Romania and I’m quite curios If there is any possibility to seed directly plastic trays?

Do I need to create the design of a plastic trays first and then the so as X Y Z function to work properly ?

Unless you use large square trays – like at least 3" square – I don’t think you will have the accuracy to seed larger trays very well. It can be done, but you will have to re-home a lot to achieve the accuracy needed to plant in the center of each square. For this reason, I would say that 1" square trays would likely not be practical.

Despite the repeatability/accuracy issues, its actually a pretty good application for the farm bot and you should be able to get seeding and watering working well.

Lights, well that’s another matter.

Before starting a new topic I searched around to find a suitable existing topic.
Like you I am a farmer in Guatemala, and we produce Hydroponic vegetables for the local supermarkets, restaurants, etc.

I plan to use farmbot extensively at the farm, however the first project I want to work on is for planting seeds directly to my existing 162 plug trays with 8x19 arrangement, measuring 11" (280mm) x 21.6" inches (550mm) x 1.75" (44.45mm) high. I’ve spent the better part of the weekend until today designing a prototype bed out of wood.

Here is a short animation video of the completed design of V1 Seed Planting Bed for Farmbot Genesis v1.3

I will be building this within the next three weeks, and will post updates on a specific thread for the matter.
Features:

• 80cm height, designed to be worked standing up
  • Adjustable cross-planks, can be raised or lowered in 30cm increments This allows for seed trays, or to be converted into a completely raised, off-the-flo0r planting bed.
  • Modular design (you can continue adding track lengthwise simply by removing one of the transverse planks and cutting the longitudinal planks 24mm)