Sourcing parts & STLs

I ran across some 2060 extrusions the other day and thought to myself, I might be able to join them together to make the gantry of an Express XL. I have a 3d Printer and thought that I could print a lot of my own parts. So this got me going down the rabbit hole of wondering how much I could print and how much I could buy. I get that the parent company puts together kits for us and I’m all for them existing to make a profit, but heck, it’s not open source unless people tinker right?

So my question is this. Has anyone taken the time to take the Express version and export everything to STL? I would of course make the gantry out of the extrusions and the motors would be purchased (or repurposed from old 3d printers)

I see that the CAD models are on OnShape, but I’m a bit novice with that site and CAD models to begin with so before I go and learn some new software which I frankly don’t have the desire or time to do right now, is there a repo of just STLs?

If someone wants to partner with me, I’m open to collaborating.

You can export from On Shape STLs easily. I have done it before but just for certain parts. I suggest you spend a bit of time in OnShape and on google and you’ll get there. I doubt you want to 3D print the linear rail though or the lead screw and belts.

Hi there, my thoughts exactly. I am slightly frustrated with the ‘open source’ wing of the company. I love the concept and the product but it does seem that the company does not really want people to build their own. There is no clear step by step route for diy builders and I can only find the stl files in the very slow and clunky onshape environment.

What I want is ;

Step 1. Connect r pi and Arduino like this….diagram
Step 2. Install this software on the pi and this on the Arduino
Step 3. Connect motors here and encoders here
Step 4. Print these parts. (LINK TO THINGYVERSE)
Step 5. Cut these parts

Etc