Suggested curriculum for elementary school?

Hi all,

My twins are both in Kindergarten and their elementary school has a garden. It sounds like a great place for a FarmBot.

However, I’d need to provide a curriculum that the school could follow. 600 kids across K-5 sharing one FarmBot – what curriculum could I equitably use?

How do secure it against theft or vandalism?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

Rory; I have been working for ten years in retirement as a retired public school teacher to get farming ag. into the schools. I have three schools each with unique requirements and curriculum. Before installing a farmbot in a school you might do well to get several things going.

Vermont schools are part of a natural Farm to School lunch program. the New hampshire school has developed a greenhouse on a land fill utilizing free heat and water. You are trying to meld two multimillion dollar programs and budgets.

There are five layers of interest to enlist. 1. teachers. Get at least five teachers to put Seed pods in their classrooms under t5 grow lights. Plant the seeds in a remote Farmbot and get the plants started. 2. get the administrators to recognize what you are up to, Use the School yearly science fare. 3. Get in front of the Hot lunch administrator and get interest and vision about what you are doing. 4. You can’t compete with subsidized food costs, So don’t try to. 5. We contracted with a local Farmer and paid him a fair wage and had the kids plant, (an afternoon in the fields) and in time we will harvest potatoes. You can use waste as a good learning point. Three out of every five dug potatoes are only indirectly useable by the hot lunch or are not directly useable. This is where you inventiveness comes in. In the 29 to 39 depression fish and chips was a potato cut six ways and fried or cooked with some salt. Not the ground up steamed heated under high pressure and formed into what we call potato chips today. I can only imagine the nutritional value.