End-stops vs Encoders

I am a newbie to CNC machines. I’ve read the Farmbot doesn’t ship with end-stops but that they are a common way to calibrate for accuracy on CNC machines. The Farmbot docs give the option of automatically calibrating with rotary encoders or DIY end-stops which some people have written about using on this forum.

I need my Farmbot to be very accurate i.e. to nearest mm and I expect I am going to need to automatically calibrate it often.

I read this post and kinda wanted to know more First Seeding, latest issues.

So I have the following questions which I think would be really helpful to others in the community, feel free to provide links as answers:

1. Which is the best method for accurate automatic calibration encoders or end-stops and why? (A brief explanation of the pros and cons would be awesome)

2. What end-stops are recommended and where to buy?

3. What are the directions to install end-stops onto the Arduino RAMPS?

4. How do I get the Farmbot software to recognise them i.e. do I need to do anything other than turn on “Enable Endstops” in the Web Apps Hardware Settings?

I have used (and seen used on professional CNC machines) these end-stops:-

They’re magnetic sensors, pretty sure they would be solid state so no moving parts to wear out. They’re sealed so suitable for operation in most environments. The receiver is normally open, so you just connect them to the RAMPS board as indicated somewhere in the documents, organised so that they switch to 5V when activated. Last time I tried them with the farmbot software they were detected reliably for homing, but not so in normal operation. But homing is when they should be used to get the best accuracy. The farmbot homing sequence isn’t as accurate as it could be, but you’ll need to make a feature request to get them to improve their homing sequence (or make the changes yourself).

Others may have alternative/better suggestions…