FarmBot Local API Troubleshoot

Hi Rick,

My name is Brennan. I’m one of the fall interns working with the food production team at KSC. I’ve been working on provisioning FarmBot using your guide and it looks like the API is running successfully so far. I’m running it via Linux Ubuntu 16.04 on VirtualBox. I have no previous experience working with VMs or running private servers, so please forgive me if I say anything wrong.

It also looks like the MQTT is communicating with the API (I can see the API terminal responding to the MQTT, and in the MQTT terminal it is saying:
Downloaded certificate from http://localhost:3000/api/public_key

When I open the web app in the browser at localhost:3000 it looks right, but displays an error saying that the web browser is unable to connect to the message broker.
In the top right, of the browser in the app, it says FarmBot is disconnected. FarmBot is plugged in and appears to be on, so I’m not sure where the problem lies. Obviously, none of the controls produce any physical response from FarmBot.

If you have any suggestions on where the problem is or how to troubleshoot, please let me know!

Thanks for your help,
Brennan Cordova

Hi Brennan,

It’s great to hear from folks at the KSC.

A few things:

• I would avoid using localhost as an IP address when using a virtual machine. Use the real IP address of your machine inside of application.yml for the API_HOST entry.
  • Once you change your host, and reboot all services, if it is still having issues, please send me a screen shot of your Javascript console (ctrl + shift + j on most machines).

Thanks!

Edit: You will also need to update MQTT_HOST as well.

Okay awesome, thanks! I’m trying that now.

Are you saying both the MQTT_HOST and API_HOST should have the same IP address?
The address I input for both of these was found simply using the arp -a command in the terminal.