Nested sequences and Plant Groups

As a software developer, I like to keep things DRY (Don’t Repeat Yourself). As such, I’ve set out to create a large amount of atomic sequences (that I’ve called Actions) that can be composed together in parent sequences (that I’ve called Routines), and using the directory feature (thanks for this!) to somewhat keep my sanity.

I’ve just tested a seeding and watering sequence that runs on a Plant Group consisting of three plants, and I’ve bumped into an issue where it does not behave as desired (although while building out the sequences it dawned on me that it could behave the way I just observed).

Sequences

Action: Collect seed from seed bin

This sequence consists of:

• Execute sequence: “Home safely”.
  • Safe Z Move to seed bin with an offset appropriate for the mounted needle.
  • Turn vacuum peripheral ON.

Action: Deposit seed at 5 mm below soil height

• Safe Z Move to externally defined location, with an offset taking into account soil height, length of the needle and the desired depth of the deposit.
  • Turn vacuum peripheral OFF.
  • Mark As Status: Planted the externally defined location variable.

Subroutine: Sow 1x at 5 mm from seed bin

The 1x refers to the fact I desire one trip to the seed bin. Some seeds, like watermelon, are so big the needle will only catch one of them at a time, yet it’s a good idea to sow 4-5 seeds and thin later. Watermelon would use a Sow 5x at 12 mm from seed bin sequence.

This subroutine consist of:

• Execute sequence: “Collect seed from seed bin”.
  • Execute sequence: “Deposit seed at 5 mm below soil height”. This sequence requires a variable definition, which is set to “externally defined”, passing it up further the chain.

Routine: Sow 1x at 5 mm for each plant from seed bin

• Execute sequence: “Get Seeder”. This mounts the Seeder toolhead.