University of Tasmania Research Contribution

TLDR: I’m a researcher from the University of Tasmania and i have 4th year engineering students working on farmbot projects - converting to polar to work on a circle garden bed (i know the project has been attempted)

Hi all,

Hope this ends up in the right spot.
I am a researcher in the Engineering department at the University of Tasmania. I manage 4th year honours students working on their major project/thesis, some of whom are currently working on farmbot projects (for 1 year). I’m looking to form connections with people in the farmbot community. As mentioned above the main project this year is to work on converting the coordinate system to allow for larger circular garden beds, using the same hardware. However i plan on supervising many future projects related to farmbot:

• AI intergration
  • Use with aqua/aero ponics
  • commercial use as a seed planter
  • Spiral garden beds
  • Harvesting attachments

Another student is already investigating potential harvesting attachments.

I hope to continue to get students on board and working on projects. I’d like to ask for intial requests/points of focus; to make sure the work the students contribute, aligns with the needs of the community. (Note: ultimately the students will have final say on their project scope and direction)

Basically if you want to help guide a bunch of student engineers, working on farmbot projects. Then watch this space.

Regards,
Jack

7 Likes

Hi Jack,

Feel free to contact me with technical questions. Because my time is limited (and I am the only FBOS developer) I cannot commit large amounts of time, but I am willing to help get folks “unstuck” if they have very specific questions about the FarmBot software architecture.

Best of luck with your research.

4 Likes

Hi Rick,